Spirit of Giving

A look back on an awesome year.

Leave a comment

10-year-old IWK patient Erin Dumville from Riverview, New Brunswick was the 2011 Children’s Miracle Network Champion Child for the IWK.

I got to go to a neat event today in PEI. The IWK announced its 2012 Children’s Miracle Network Champion Child and they asked me to be there to talk about my year as Champion and welcome the new Champion. His name is Cole Robinson. He’s eight-years-old and has a bleeding disorder called Hemophilia B. He has to visit the IWK for check-ups like I do.

2011 Children's Miracle Network Champion, Erin Dumville, with Cole Robinson, our 2012 Children's Miracle Network Champion.

Cole seems cool and I was happy to be able to tell him about what to expect during his year as Champion.  It’s an awesome experience that I will never forget.  When I went to Ottawa, it was great to get to meet the other Champion kids from acrossCanada. We got to meet the Governor General and go bowling with Heather Moyse, who is an Olympic gold medalist. After that, we flew to Toronto and went to the Playdium!

When we left Toronto, we went to Walt Disney World in Orlando, Florida! There, I got a special medal at a ceremony honouring all of the Champion kids from across North America. I also got to meet Tiffany Thornton from my favourite show, Sonny with a Chance.

In June, I went to the IWK for the Telethon on CTV. I loved the whole thing!  I got to hang out with Bill Carr and I was even interviewed by Starr Dobson.

I also had the chance to help Walmart* out. They sponsor the Champions program and made my trips possible.  I went to my local Walmart* during its round-up week and made an announcement over their PA system to encourage their customers to round-up their total for the IWK. Walmart* even gave me my very own smock and my friends think it’s cool. I was also the ambassador for the Walmart Walk for Miracles.

I’m really going to miss being the champion child. But I won’t miss my friends at the IWK Foundation, because I’m still going to be talking to them and helping them out at other events.

I’m excited for Cole and I hope his experience is just as great as mine was this year!

Leave a Reply

